

MINUTES

COUNCIL - ANNUAL MEETING

3.30 pm - 4.30 pm

22 May 2012

Present: Councillor Jenny Lay (Lord Mayor), Chris Higgins (Sheriff), Councillors Ackroyd, Arthur, Barker, Blunt, Bradford, Bremner, Brimblecombe, Brociek-Coulton, Button, Carlo, Driver, Galvin, Gayton, Gee, Gihawi, Grahame, Grenville, Harris, Haynes, Henderson, Howard, Kendrick, Little, Lubbock, MacDonald, Manning, Neale, Price, Rogers, Sands (S), Sands (M), Stammers, Stephenson, Stonard, Storie, Thomas, Waters, and Wright

1. LORD MAYOR'S ANNOUNCEMENTS

The Lord Mayor, Councillor Lay announced that since the last meeting her engagements had included the opening of the refurbished Royal British Legion premises at Aylsham Road; welcoming five cyclists who had completed a charity bike ride from Koblenz to Norwich and attending the sheriff's golf day at Sprowston Manor in aid of the civic charity.

2. ELECTION OF LORD MAYOR

Councillor Waters moved and Councillor Wright seconded and it was -

RESOLVED, unanimously, to elect Councillor Ralph Gayton to the office of Lord Mayor of Norwich for the new civic year.

Councillor Gayton then made and signed the declaration of acceptance of office and acknowledged the honour conferred on him.

(The Lord Mayor (Councillor Gayton) in the Chair).

3. APPOINTMENT OF SHERIFF

Councillor Bremner moved and Councillor Stephenson seconded and it was -

RESOLVED, unanimously, to elect John Jennings to the office of Sheriff of Norwich for the new civic year.

John Jennings then made and signed the declaration of acceptance of office and acknowledged the honour conferred on him.

The Sheriff named Jane Mary Anderson as his under sheriff.

4. VOTE OF THANKS TO THE OUTGOING LORD MAYOR AND THE OUTGOING SHERIFF

Councillor Arthur moved and Councillor Haynes seconded and it was -

RESOLVED that the council expresses its appreciation of the valuable service as rendered to the city by -

- Councillor Jenny Lay as Lord Mayor and Mr Kenneth Lay as Lord Mayor's consort during the past year and, on behalf of the citizens of Norwich, records its warmest thanks;
- (2) Chris Higgins as Sheriff and Mrs Glynis Higgins as Lady Sheriff during the past year and, on behalf of the citizens of Norwich, records its warmest thanks.

The outgoing Lord Mayor and Sheriff then returned thanks.

5. ELECTION OF DEPUTY LORD MAYOR

Councillor Arthur moved and Councillor Waters seconded and it was -

RESOLVED to elect Councillor Sands (M) as Deputy Lord Mayor for the purpose of chairing council meetings in the absence of the Lord Mayor, given that the Sheriff is not a member of the council.

6. ELECTION OF THE LEADER OF THE COUNCIL

Councillor Waters moved and Councillor Macdonald seconded and it was -

RESOLVED, with 21 voting in favour, 0 against and 18 abstentions, to elect Councillor Arthur as the Leader of the Council.

7. LEADER OF THE COUNCIL'S CABINET APPOINTMENTS

RESOLVED to note, having been elected as Leader of the Council, Councillor Arthur's cabinet appointments as follows:-

Councillor Waters	 Deputy leader and resources portfolio
Councillor Bremner	- Environment and development portfolio
Councillor Brociek - Coulton	- Customer services portfolio
Councillor Driver	- Environment and neighbourhoods portfolio
Councillor Gihawi	- Play, parks and open spaces portfolio
Councillor MacDonald	- Housing portfolio

8. APPOINTMENT OF HONORARY RECORDER, APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEES, JOINT COMMITTEES AND OTHER WORKING PARTIES/PANELS AND SCHEDULE OF MEETINGS FOR 2012/13

Councillor Arthur moved and Councillor Galvin seconded and it was -

RESOLVED to -

- (1) appoint Judge Peter Jacobs as the Honorary recorder for the new civic year;
- (2) elect Councillor Stephenson to the chair of the Scrutiny committee and Councillor Little to the chair of the Audit committee for the new civic year;
- (3) elect Councillor Kendrick to the chair of the licensing committee and Councillor Bradford to the chair of the planning applications committee and that the number of places on these committees, which are not set out in the constitution for the new civic year, be determined as follows:-

Licensing 13 Planning applications committee 12

- (4) elect Councillor Bremner to the vice-chair of the Norwich Highways Agency Committee for the new civic year;
- (5) appoint Peter Franzen to the chair and Colin Thrower to the vice- chair of the Standards Committee for the new civic year;
- (6) approve the schedule of meetings for the new civic year (in accordance with appendix B);
- (7) delegate to the Head of law and governance, in consultation with the leaders of the political groups, the appointment of members in accordance with the political balance rules to committees, joint committees and other working parties/panels of the council.
- (8) note that a report on the appointment of representatives to outside organisations will be submitted to the council on 19 June, 2012 and to agree that any changes to existing appointments to organisations meeting before this council should be delegated to the Head of law and governance in consultation with the leaders of the political groups.

LORD MAYOR