

# **COUNCIL - ANNUAL MEETING**

3.30 pm - 4.30 pm 21 May 2013

Present: Councillor Ralph Gayton (Lord Mayor), John Jennings (Sheriff),

Councillors Ackroyd, Arthur, Barker, Blunt, Bradford, Bremner, Brimblecombe, Brociek-Coulton, Button, Driver, Galvin, Gayton, Gihawi, Grahame, Grenville, Harris, Haynes, Henderson, Howard, Jackson, Kendrick, Little, Lubbock, MacDonald, Manning, Maxwell, Neale, Sands(M), Sands (S), Stammers, Stephenson, Stonard, Storie,

Thomas, Waters, Wright.

Apologies: Councillors Boswell, Carlo and Price.

#### 1. LORD MAYOR'S ANNOUNCEMENTS

The Lord Mayor, Councillor Gayton thanked the Sherriff, civic office staff and the Lady Mayoress for their assistance during the civic year. He also thanked all who contributed to the civic charity.

He then summarised highlights of his year and the work of volunteers in Norwich. He went on to note the city's success in gaining UNESCO city of lit status.

Finally, he congratulated new Lord Mayor on his appointment.

# 2. ELECTION OF LORD MAYOR

Councillor Waters moved and Councillor Stephenson seconded and it was –

**RESOLVED,** unanimously, to elect Councillor Keith Driver to the office of Lord Mayor of Norwich for the new civic year.

Councillor Driver then made and signed the declaration of acceptance of office and acknowledged the honour conferred on him.

(The Lord Mayor (Councillor Driver) in the Chair).

# 3. APPOINTMENT OF SHERIFF

Councillor Arthur moved and Councillor Wright seconded and it was –

**RESOLVED,** unanimously, to elect Graham Creelman to the office of Sheriff of Norwich for the new civic year.

Graham Creelman then made and signed the declaration of acceptance of office and acknowledged the honour conferred on him.

The Sheriff named Jane Anderson as his under sheriff.

Council: 21 May 2013

# 4. VOTE OF THANKS TO THE OUTGOING LORD MAYOR AND THE OUTGOING SHERIFF

Councillor Stonard moved and Councillor Kendrick seconded and it was -

**RESOLVED** that the council expresses its appreciation of the valuable service as rendered to the city by –

- (1) Councillor Ralph Gayton as Lord Mayor and Mrs Brenda Gayton as Lady Mayoress during the past year and, on behalf of the citizens of Norwich, records its warmest thanks;
- (2) John Jennings as Sheriff and Mrs Jane Waters as Sheriff's Lady during the past year and, on behalf of the citizens of Norwich, records its warmest thanks.

The outgoing Lord Mayor and Sheriff then returned thanks.

#### 5. ELECTION OF DEPUTY LORD MAYOR

Councillor Arthur moved and Councillor Lubbock seconded and it was -

**RESOLVED** to elect Councillor Wright as Deputy Lord Mayor for the purpose of chairing council meetings in the absence of the Lord Mayor, given that the Sheriff is not a member of the council.

# 6. ELECTION OF THE LEADER OF THE COUNCIL

Councillor Waters moved and Councillor Brociek-Coulton seconded and it was -

**RESOLVED**, with 21 voting in favour, 0 against and 18 abstentions, to elect Councillor Arthur as the Leader of the Council.

# 7. LEADER OF THE COUNCIL'S CABINET APPOINTMENTS

**RESOLVED** to note, having been elected as Leader of the Council, Councillor Arthur's cabinet appointments as follows:-

Councillor Waters - Deputy leader and resources portfolio

Councillor Bremner - Housing portfolio

Councillor Stonard - Environment, development and transport portfolio

Councillor Kendrick - Neighbourhoods and community safety portfolio

Councillor Mike Sands - Customer services portfolio

#### 8. APPOINTMENT OF HONORARY RECORDER

Councillor Arthur moved and Councillor Howard seconded and it was -

**RESOLVED** to appoint Robert Charles Stephen Holt as the Honorary recorder for the new civic year

9. APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEES, JOINT COMMITTEES AND OTHER WORKING PARTIES/PANELS AND SCHEDULE OF MEETINGS FOR 2013/14

Councillor Arthur moved and Councillor Waters seconded and it was -

#### **RESOLVED** to -

- (1) elect Councillor Stephenson to the chair of the Scrutiny committee and Councillor Little to the chair of the Audit committee for the new civic year;
- (2) elect Councillor Gayton to the chair of the licensing committee and Councillor Bradford to the chair of the planning applications committee and that the number of places on these committees, which are not set out in the constitution for the new civic year, be determined as follows:-

Licensing committee 13
Planning applications committee 12

- (3) elect Councillor Stonard to the vice-chair of the Norwich Highways Agency Committee for the new civic year;
- (4) approve the schedule of meetings for the new civic year (in accordance with appendix A);
- (5) delegate to the Head of law and governance, in consultation with the leaders of the political groups, the appointment of members in accordance with the political balance rules to committees, joint committees and other working parties/panels of the council.
- (6) note that a report on the appointment of representatives to outside organisations will be submitted to the council on 25 June, 2012 and to agree that any changes to existing appointments to organisations meeting before this council should be delegated to the Head of law and governance in consultation with the leaders of the political groups.

LORD MAYOR