

MINUTES

# **COUNCIL - ANNUAL MEETING**

### 3.30 pm - 4.45 pm

### 17 May 2011

- Present: Tom Dylan (Lord Mayor), Derek James (Sheriff), Councillors Ackroyd, Arthur, Banham, Bradford, Bremner, Brociek-Coulton, Carlo, Driver, Fairbairn, Fisher, Galvin, Gayton, Gee, George, Gihawi, Gledhill, Grahame, Grenville, Henderson, Holmes, Jeraj, Kendrick, Lay, Little, Lubbock, MacDonald, Makoff, Offord, Sands (S), Sands (M), Stammers, Stephenson, Storie, Thomas, Waters, Westmacott and Wright
- Apologies: Councillors Altman and Haynes

## 1. ELECTION OF LORD MAYOR

Councillor Waters moved and Councillor Stephenson seconded and it was -

**RESOLVED** to elect Councillor Jenny Lay to the office of Lord Mayor of Norwich for the new civic year.

Councillor Lay then made and signed the declaration of acceptance of office and acknowledged the honour conferred on her (the Lord Mayor (Councillor Lay) in the Chair).

### 2. APPOINTMENT OF SHERIFF

Councillor Driver moved and Councillor George seconded and it was -**RESOLVED** to elect Chris Higgins to the office of Sheriff of Norwich for the new civic year. Chris Higgins then made and signed the declaration of acceptance of office and acknowledged the honour conferred on him.

The Sheriff named Jane Mary Anderson as his under sheriff.

# 3. VOTE OF THANKS TO THE OUTGOING LORD MAYOR AND THE OUTGOING SHERIFF

Councillor Jeraj moved and Councillor Arthur seconded and it was -  ${\bf RESOLVED}$  that the council expresses its appreciation of the valuable service as rendered to the city by –

- (1) Tom Dylan as Lord Mayor and Ms Amy Stammers, Ms Jessica Goldfinch and Councillor Steve Altman as Lord Mayor's consorts during the past year and, on behalf of the citizens of Norwich, records its warmest thanks;
- (2) Derek James as Sheriff and Bridgette James as Lady Sheriff during the past year and, on behalf of the citizens of Norwich, records its warmest thanks.

The outgoing Lord Mayor and Sheriff then returned thanks.

### 4. ELECTION OF DEPUTY LORD MAYOR

Councillor Arthur moved and Councillor Lubbock seconded and it was -

**RESOLVED** to elect Councillor Driver as Deputy Lord Mayor for the purpose of chairing council meetings in the absence of the Lord Mayor, given that the Sheriff is not a member of the council.

### 5. ELECTION OF THE LEADER OF THE COUNCIL

Councillor Driver moved and Councillor Bremner seconded and it was -

**RESOLVED**, with 18 voting in favour, 2 against and 17 abstentions, to elect Councillor Arthur as the Leader of the Council.

#### 6. APPOINTMENT OF HONORARY RECORDER, APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEES, JOINT COMMITTEES AND OTHER WORKING PARTIES/PANELS AND SCHEDULE OF MEETINGS FOR 2011/12

Councillor Arthur moved and Councillor Stephenson seconded and it was -

### RESOLVED to -

(1) appoint Judge Peter Jacobs as the Honorary recorder for the new civic year;

- (2) elect Councillor Stephenson to the chair of the Scrutiny committee and Councillor Little to the chair of the Audit committee for the new civic year;
- elect Councillor Driver to the chair of the licensing committee and Councillor Bradford to the chair of the planning applications committee and that the number of places on these committees, which are not set out in the constitution for the new civic year, be determined as follows:-Licensing 13 Planning applications committee 12
- (4) elect Councillor Bremner to the vice-chair of the Norwich Highways Agency Committee for the new civic year;
- (5) appoint Peter Franzen to the chair and Colin Thrower to the vice- chair of the Standards Committee for the new civic year;
- (6) approve the schedule of meetings of ordinary meetings of the council and notes the schedule for main committees for the new civic year (in accordance with appendix A);
- (7) delegate to the Head of law and governance, in consultation with the leaders of the political groups, the appointment of members in accordance with the political balance rules to committees, joint committees and other working parties/panels of the council.
- (8) note that a report on the appointment of representatives to outside organisations will be submitted to the council on 28 June, 2011 and to agree that any changes to existing appointments to organisations meeting before this council should be delegated to the Head of law and governance in consultation with the leaders of the political groups.

LORD MAYOR