

MINUTES

COUNCIL – ANNUAL MEETING

3.00 p.m. – 4.30 p.m.

19 May 2009

Present: Councillor Collishaw (Lord Mayor), Professor Tim O'Riordan (Sheriff),

Councillors Arthur, Banham, Bearman, Blakeway, Blower, Bradford, Bremner, Brociek-Coulton, Cannell, Divers, Dylan, Driver, Fairbairn, Fisher, George, Gihawi, Gledhill, Holmes, Hooke, Jago, Jeraj, Lay, Little A, Little S, Llewellyn, Lubbock, Makoff, Morphew, Morrey, Offord, Ramsay, Read, Stephenson, Surridge, Waters, Watkins, Wiltshire and

Wright

Apologies: Councillors

1. ELECTION OF LORD MAYOR

Councillor A Little moved and Councillor Watkins seconded and it was -

RESOLVED to elect Councillor Evelyn Collishaw to the office of Lord Mayor of Norwich for the new Civic Year.

Councillor Collishaw then made and signed the declaration of acceptance of office and acknowledged the honour conferred on him.

(The Lord Mayor (Councillor Collishaw) in the Chair).

2. APPOINTMENT OF SHERIFF

Councillor Morrey moved and Councillor Ramsay seconded and it was -

RESOLVED to elect Professor Tim O'Riordan to the office of Sheriff of Norwich for the new Civic Year

Professor Tim O'Riordan then made and signed the declaration of acceptance of office and acknowledged the honour conferred on him.

The Sheriff nominated Jane Mary Anderson as his Under-Sheriff.

3. VOTE OF THANKS TO THE OUTGOING LORD MAYOR AND THE OUTGOING SHERIFF

Councillor Morphew moved and Councillor Wright seconded and it was -

RESOLVED that the Council -

- (1) expresses its appreciation of the valuable services rendered to the City by Councillor Jeremy Hooke as Lord Mayor and by Mrs Leanne Annison as Lady Mayoress, during the past year and on behalf of the citizens of Norwich records its warmest thanks;
- (2) expresses its appreciation of the valuable services rendered to the City by Mr Roy Waller as Sheriff and by Mrs Sylvie Waller as Sheriff's Lady during the past year and records its warmest thanks.

The outgoing Lord Mayor and Sheriff then returned thanks.

4. ELECTION OF DEPUTY LORD MAYOR

Councillor Blower moved and Councillor Morrey seconded and it was -

RESOLVED to elect Councillor Keith Driver as Deputy Lord Mayor for the purpose of chairing Council meetings in the absence of the Lord Mayor, given that the Sheriff is not a member of the Council.

5. ELECTION OF THE LEADER OF COUNCIL AND APPOINTMENT OF THE EXECUTIVE

Councillor Morrey moved and Councillor Blower seconded, and it was -

RESOLVED to elect Councillor Morphew as Leader of the Council.

Councillor Morphew moved and Councillor Blower seconded, and it was -

RESOLVED to appoint the following members of the Executive -

Councillor Morphew Leader of the Council

Councillor Morrey Deputy Leader of the Council and Executive

Member for Sustainable City Development

Councillor Waters Executive Member for Corporate Resources

and Governance

Councillor Sands Executive Member for Children and Young

People

Councillor Arthur Executive Member for Housing and Adult

Services

Councillor Brociek-Coulton Executive Member for Residents and

Customer Care

Councillor Bremner Executive Member for Community Safety

and Community Cohesion

Councillor Blakeway Executive Member for Neighbourhood Development.

6. APPOINTMENTS OF COMMITTEES, JOINT COMMITTEES AND OTHER WORKING PARTIES/PANELS AND SCHEDULE OF MEETINGS FOR 2009/10

Councillor Morrey moved and Councillor Bremner seconded, and it was -

RESOLVED,

'That Council:-

- (1) appoints Councillor Stephenson to the Chair of the Scrutiny Committee and Councillor S Little to the Chair of the Audit Committee for the new Civic Year;
- (2) appoints Councillor Driver to the Chair of the Licensing Committee, Councillor Blower the Chair of the Regulatory Committee and Councillor Bradford to the Chair of the Planning Applications Committee and that the number of places on these Committees, which are not set out in the Constitution, for the new Civic Year, be determined as follows:-

Licensing 11
Regulatory Committee 10
Planning Applications Committee 12

- (3) appoints Councillor Morrey to the Vice-Chair of the Norwich Highways Agency Committee for the new Civic Year;
- (4) appoints Peter Franzen to the Chair and Colin Thrower to the Vice-Chair of the Standards Committee for the new Civic Year:
- (5) approves the schedule of meetings of Council, Executive and main Committees for the new Civic Year (in accordance with the revised Appendix A);
- (6) delegates to the Head of Legal and Democratic Services, in consultation with the Leaders of the Political Groups, the appointment of members in accordance with the political balance rules to Committees, Joint Committees and other Working Parties/Panels of the Council;
- (7) notes that a report on the appointment of representatives to outside organisations will be submitted to the Council at the end of June 2009 and to agree that any changes to existing appointments to organisations meeting before this Council should be delegated to the Head of Legal and Democratic Services in consultation with the Leaders of the Political Groups.'

LORD MAYOR