

**MINUTES** 

### **COUNCIL - ANNUAL MEETING**

3.30 pm - 4.50 pm 24 May 2016

Present: Councillor Maxwell (Lord Mayor following election), Richard Marks

(Sheriff, following election), Councillors Ackroyd, Bradford, Bremner, Bogelein, Brociek-Coulton, Button. Carlo, Coleshill, Davis, Driver, Fullman, Grahame, Haynes, Harris, Herries, Jackson, Jones (B), Jones (T), Kendrick, Lubbock, Manning, Maguire, Malik, Packer, Peek, Price, Raby, Ryan, Sands (M), Sands (S), Schmierer, Stonard,

Thomas (Va), Thomas (Vi), Waters, Woollard and Wright

Apologies: Councillor Henderson

#### 1. LORD MAYOR'S ANNOUNCEMENTS

The Lord Mayor (Brenda Arthur) updated the council on some of her engagements since the last meeting.

## 2. ELECTION OF LORD MAYOR

Councillor Harris moved and Councillor Wright seconded and it was -

**RESOLVED,** unanimously, to elect Councillor Maxwell to the office of Lord Mayor of Norwich for the new civic year.

Councillor Maxwell then made and signed the declaration of acceptance of office and acknowledged the honour conferred on her.

(The Lord Mayor (Councillor Maxwell) in the chair)

#### 3. APPOINTMENT OF SHERIFF

Councillor Waters moved and Councillor Schmierer seconded and it was -

**RESOLVED,** unanimously, to elect Richard Marks to the office of Sheriff of Norwich for the new civic year.

Richard Marks then made and signed the declaration of acceptance of office and acknowledged the honour conferred on him.

Jane Anderson was named as his under- sheriff.

Council: 24 May 2016

# 4. VOTE OF THANKS TO THE OUTGOING LORD MAYOR AND THE OUTGOING SHERIFF

Councillor Stonard moved and Councillor Schmierer seconded and it was -

**RESOLVED**, unanimously, to express the council's appreciation of the valuable service rendered to the city by –

- (1) Brenda Arthur as Lord Mayor and Brian Horner as Lord Mayor's consort during the past year and, on behalf of the citizens of Norwich, records its warmest thanks;
- (2) Beryl Blower as Sheriff and Roy Blower as Sheriff's consort during the past year and, on behalf of the citizens of Norwich, records its warmest thanks.

The outgoing Lord Mayor and Sheriff then returned thanks.

### 5. ELECTION OF DEPUTY LORD MAYOR

Councillor Kendrick moved and Councillor Ackroyd seconded and it was -

**RESOLVED**, unanimously, to elect Councillor Wright as Deputy Lord Mayor for the purpose of chairing council meetings in the absence of the Lord Mayor, given that the Sheriff is not a member of the council.

## 6. ELECTION OF LEADER OF THE COUNCIL

Councillor Harris moved and Councillor Woollard seconded and it was -

**RESOLVED,** with 29 voting in favour, none against and 9 abstentions to elect Councillor Waters as the Leader of the Council.

## 7. LEADER OF THE COUNCIL'S CABINET APPOINTMENTS

**RESOLVED** to note, having been elected as Leader of the Council, Councillor Waters' cabinet appointments as follows:-

Councillor Harris, Deputy leader and cabinet member for council housing Councillor Bremner, Cabinet member for environment and sustainable development Councillor Kendrick, Cabinet member for neighbourhoods and community safety Councillor Ryan, Cabinet member for customer care and leisure Councillor Stonard, Cabinet member for resources and business liaison Councillor Thomas (Va), Cabinet member for fairness and equality

## 8. APPOINTMENT OF HONORARY RECORDER

Councillor Ryan moved and Councillor Bogelein seconded and it was -

**RESOLVED,** unanimously, to appoint Robert Charles Stephen Holt as the Honorary recorder for the new civic year.

Council: 24 May 2016

# 9. APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEES, JOINT COMMITTEES AND OTHER WORKING PARTIES/PANELS AND SCHEDULE OF MEETINGS FOR 16/17

Councillor Waters moved and Councillor Thomas (Va) seconded that council:

- (a) elects:-
  - (i) Councillor Wright to the chair of the scrutiny committee and
  - (ii) Councillor Price to the chair of the audit committee for the new civic year;
- (b) elects Councillor Button to the chair of the licensing committee and Councillor Herries to the chair of the planning applications committee and that the number of places on these committees, which are not set out in the constitution, for the new civic year, be determined as follows:-

Licensing committee 13
Planning applications committee 12

- (c) elects Councillor Bremner to the vice-chair of the Norwich Highways Agency committee for the new civic year;
- (d) approves the schedule of ordinary meetings of the council, and notes the schedule for main committees for the new civic year (in accordance with appendix B);
- (e) delegates to the executive head of business relationship management and democracy, in consultation with the leaders of the political groups, the appointment of members in accordance with the political balance rules to committees, joint committees and other working parties/panels of the council:
- (f) delegates to the executive head of business relationship management and democracy, in consultation with the leaders of the political groups, the appointments to outside organisations.

Councillor Grahame moved and Councillor Schmierer seconded that:

"Item 9 (a) be amended to elect Councillor Bogelein as chair of the scrutiny committee"

On being put to the vote and with 9 voting in favour, 29 against and no abstentions, the amendment was declared lost.

The Lord Mayor then put the substantive motion to the vote and it was -

#### **RESOLVED:-**

(1) with 28 voting in favour, 9 against and no abstentions, to elect: Councillor Wright as chair of the scrutiny committee for the new civic year

Council: 24 May 2016

- (2) unanimously, to :-,
  - (a) elect Councillor Price as the chair of the audit committee for the new civic year;
  - (b) elect Councillor Button to the chair of the licensing committee and Councillor Herries to the chair of the planning applications committee and that the number of places on these committees, which are not set out in the constitution, for the new civic year, be determined as follows:-

Licensing committee 13 Planning applications committee 12

- (c) elect Councillor Bremner to the vice-chair of the Norwich highways agency committee for the new civic year;
- (d) approve the schedule of ordinary meetings of the council, and notes the schedule for main committees for the new civic year (in accordance with appendix B);
- (e) delegate to the executive head of strategy, people and democracy, head of law and governance, in consultation with the leaders of the political groups, the appointment of members in accordance with the political balance rules to committees, joint committees and other working parties/panels of the council;
- (f) delegate to the executive head of strategy, people and democracy, in consultation with the leaders of the political groups, the appointments to outside organisations.

**LORD MAYOR**