

MINUTES

COUNCIL - ANNUAL MEETING

15.30 – 16:55 22 May 2018

Present: Councillor Schmierer (Lord Mayor following election), Ros Brown

(Sheriff, following election), Councillors Ackroyd, Bradford, Brociek-Coulton, Button, Carlo, Coleshill, Davis, Driver, Fullman, Fulton-McAlister (M), Hampton, Harris, Henderson, Huntley, Jones, Kendrick, Lubbock, Manning, Maguire, Malik, Maxwell, Packer, Peek, Price, Raby, Ryan, Sands (M), Sands (S), Smith, Stonard, Stewart, Stutely,

Thomas (Va), Thomas (Vi), Trevor, Waters, and Wright

Apologies: Councillors Fulton-McAlister (E)

1. Lord Mayor's Announcements

The Lord Mayor (Councillor Fullman) paid tribute to former Lord Mayor and city councillor, Barbara Stephenson, who had recently passed away. As a mark of respect a minute's silence was held.

The Lord Mayor welcomed Councillors Maxwell, Packer, Stonard, Sands (S) and Wright who had been re-elected to the council, and welcomed the newly elected members, Councillor Fulton-McAlister (E) (absent), Fulton-McAlister (M), Hampton, Huntley, Smith, Steward, Stutely and Trevor.

2. Election of Lord Mayor

Councillor moved Raby and Councillor Maxwell seconded and it was -

RESOLVED, unanimously, to elect Councillor Schmierer to the office of Lord Mayor of Norwich for the new civic year.

Councillor Schmierer then read and signed the declaration of acceptance of office and acknowledged the honour conferred on him.

(The Lord Mayor (Councillor Schmierer) in the chair)

3. Appointment of Sheriff

Councillor Waters moved and Councillor Lubbock seconded and it was -

RESOLVED, unanimously, to elect Ms Rosamunde Brown to the office of Sheriff of Norwich for the new civic year.

Rosamunde (Ros) Brown then made and signed the declaration of acceptance of office and acknowledged the honour conferred on her.

Jane Anderson was named as her under- sheriff.

4. Vote of thanks to the outgoing Lord Mayor and the outgoing Sheriff

Councillor Harris moved and Councillor Price seconded and it was -

RESOLVED, unanimously, to express the council's appreciation of the valuable service rendered to the city by:

- (1) Councillor Fullman as Lord Mayor and by his Lord Mayor's Consorts during the past year and, on behalf of the citizens of Norwich, records its warmest thanks;
- (2) Mr David Walker as Sheriff and Mrs Gisele Walker, as Sheriff's consort, during the past year and, on behalf of the citizens of Norwich, records its warmest thanks.

The outgoing Lord Mayor and Sheriff then returned thanks.

5. Election of Deputy Lord Mayor

Councillor Waters moved and Councillor Manning seconded and it was -

RESOLVED, unanimously, to elect Councillor Ryan, as Deputy Lord Mayor for the purpose of chairing council meetings in the absence of the Lord Mayor, given that the Sheriff is not a member of the council.

6. Election of Leader of the Council

Councillor Harris moved and Councillor Davis seconded and it was -

RESOLVED, unanimously, to elect Councillor Waters as the Leader of the Council.

7. Leader of the council's cabinet appointments

RESOLVED to note, having been elected as Leader of the Council, Councillor Waters' cabinet appointments are as follows:-

Councillor Harris, Deputy leader and cabinet member for social housing

Councillor Maguire, Cabinet member for safe city environment

Councillor Davis, Cabinet member for social inclusion

Councillor Stonard, Cabinet member for sustainable and inclusive growth

Councillor Jones, Cabinet member for safer, stronger neighbourhoods

Councillor Packer, Cabinet member for health and wellbeing

Councillor Kendrick, Cabinet member for resources

8. Appointment of Honorary Recorder

Councillor Ryan moved and Councillor Raby seconded and it was -

RESOLVED, unanimously, to appoint His Honour Robert Charles Stephen Holt as the Honorary recorder for the new civic year.

9. Appointment of Committees, Joint Committees and Other Working Parties/Panels and Schedule of Meetings for 2017-18

Councillor Waters moved and Councillor Harris seconded and it was _

RESOLVED, unanimously, to:

- (a) elect:
 - (i) Councillor Wright to the chair of the scrutiny committee, and,
 - (ii) Councillor Price to the chair of the audit committee for the new civic year;
- (b) elect Councillor Malik to the chair of the licensing committee and Councillor Driver to the chair of the planning applications committee and that the number of places on these committees, which are not set out in the constitution, for the new civic year, be determined as follows:-

Licensing committee 13
Planning applications committee 13

- (c) elect Councillor Stonard to the vice-chair of the Norwich Highways Agency committee for the new civic year;
- (d) approve the schedule of ordinary meetings of the council, and notes the schedule for main committees for the new civic year (in accordance with appendix B);
- (e) delegate to the director of business services in consultation with the leaders of the political groups, the appointment of members in accordance with the political balance rules to committees, joint committees and other working parties/panels of the council.