

MINUTES

# **COUNCIL – ANNUAL MEETING**

#### 3.00 p.m. – 4.30 p.m.

### 20 May 2008

Present: Councillor Hooke (Lord Mayor), Nick Williams (Sheriff), Councillors Arthur, Banham, Bearman, Blakeway, Blower, Bradford, Bremner, Brociek-Coulton, Cannell, Collishaw, Divers, Dylan, Driver, Fisher, George, Gihawi, Gledhill, Holmes, Jago, Jeraj, Lay, Little A, Little S, Llewellyn, Makoff, Mayhew, Morphew, Morrey, Offord, Ramsay, Read, Stephenson, Surridge, Waters, Watkins, Wright, Wyatt

Apologies: Councillors Lubbock and Fairbairn

# 1. ELECTION OF LORD MAYOR

Councillor Divers moved and Councillor Morphew seconded and it was -

**RESOLVED**, unanimously, to elect Councillor Jeremy Nigel Hooke to the office of Lord Mayor of Norwich for the new Civic Year.

Councillor Hooke then made and signed the declaration of acceptance of office and acknowledged the honour conferred on him.

(The Lord Mayor (Councillor Hooke) in the Chair).

## 2. APPOINTMENT OF SHERIFF

The Lord Mayor announced that the appointment of a Sheriff would be deferred until the Council meeting on 3 June 2008.

# 3. VOTE OF THANKS TO THE OUTGOING LORD MAYOR AND THE OUTGOING SHERIFF

Councillor Bremner moved and Councillor Ramsay seconded and it was -

RESOLVED, unanimously, that the Council -

 expresses its appreciation of the valuable services rendered to the City by Councillor Roy George Blower as Lord Mayor and by Beryl Blower as Lady Mayoress, during the past year and on behalf of the citizens of Norwich records its warmest thanks; (2) expresses its appreciation of the valuable services rendered to the City by Nick Williams as Sheriff and by Gill Wilson as Sheriff's Lady during the past year and records its warmest thanks.

The outgoing Lord Mayor and Sheriff then returned thanks.

#### 4. ELECTION OF DEPUTY LORD MAYOR

Councillor Morphew moved and Councillor Stephenson seconded and it was -

**RESOLVED**, unanimously, to elect Councillor Keith Driver as Deputy Lord Mayor for the purpose of chairing Council meetings in the absence of the Lord Mayor, given that the Sheriff is not a member of the Council.

# 5. ELECTION OF THE LEADER OF COUNCIL AND APPOINTMENT OF THE EXECUTIVE

Councillor Morrey moved and Councillor Waters seconded, and it was -

**RESOLVED** to elect Councillor Morphew as Leader of the Council.

Councillor Morphew moved and Councillor Bradford seconded, and it was -

RESOLVED to appoint the following members of the Executive -

Councillor Morphew	Leader of the Council
Councillor Morrey	Deputy Leader of the Council and Executive Member for Sustainable City Development
Councillor Waters	Executive Member for Corporate Resources and Governance
Councillor Sands	Executive Member for Children and Young People
Councillor Arthur	Executive Member for Housing and Adult Services
Councillor Brociek-Coulton	Executive Member for Residents and Customer Care
Councillor Bremner	Executive Member for Community Safety and Community Cohesion
Councillor Blakeway	Executive Member for Neighbourhood Development.

#### 6. APPOINTMENTS OF COMMITTEES, JOINT COMMITTEES AND OTHER WORKING PARTIES/PANELS AND SCHEDULE OF MEETINGS FOR 2007/08

Councillor Morphew moved and Councillor Morrey seconded, and it was -

**RESOLVED**, unanimously, -

- (1) to appoint Judge Peter Jacobs as the Honorary Recorder for the New Civic Year;
- (2) to appoint the following for the new Civic Year:-

Councillor Stephenson -	Chair of Scrutiny Committee
Councillor Driver -	Chair of Licensing Committee
Councillor Blower -	Chair of Regulatory Committee
Councillor Bradford -	Chair of Planning Applications Committee
Councillor S Little -	Chair of Audit Committee
Councillor Morrey -	Vice-Chair of the Norwich Highways Agency
-	Committee
Peter Franzen -	Chair of Standards Committee
Colin Thrower -	Vice-Chair of Standards Committee

(2) that the number places for Committees, which are not set out in the Constitution, for the new Civic Year be determined as follows:

Audit Committee		8
Licensing Committee	-	11
Regulatory Committee	-	10
Planning Applications Committee	-	12

- (3) to approve the schedule of meetings of Council, Executive and main Committees for the new Civic Year, attached (to the agenda) as Appendix A;
- (4) to delegate to the Head of Legal and Democratic Services in consultation with the Leaders of the Political Groups the appointment of members in accordance with the political balance rules to Committees, Joint Committees and other Working Parties/Panels of the Council;
- (5) to note that a report on the appointment of representatives to outside organisations will be submitted to the June Council and to agree that any changes to existing appointments to organisations meeting before the June Council be delegated to the Head of Legal and Democratic Services in consultation with the Leaders of the Political Groups.'