

MINUTES

# **Council - Annual Meeting**

## 15.30 - 16:50

23 May 2023

Present: Councillor Wright (Lord Mayor following election), Dr Janet Sheldon(Sheriff, following election), Councillors Ackroyd, Calvert, Carrington, Catt, Champion, Davis, Driver, Everett, Fox, Fulton-McAlister, Galvin, Giles, Hampton, Hoechner, Huntley, Jones, Kendrick, Kidman, Lubbock, Maguire, Oliver, Osborn, Packer, Padda, Peek, Prinsley, Sands (M), Sands (S), Schmierer, Stonard, Stutely, Thomas (Va), Thomas (Vi), Worley and Young

Apologies: Councillors Francis, Haynes and Price

## 1. Lord Mayor's Announcements

The Lord Mayor said a few words of welcome to councillors, guests and officers and set out the practical arrangements for the meeting.

One of the highlights of his term of office had been his recent visit to Rome to meet the Pope to mark 650 years since the publication of "Revelations of Divine Love" by Julian of Norwich, the first woman to publish a book written in the English language.

## 2. Election of Lord Mayor

Councillor Ackroyd moved and Councillor Stonard seconded the motion and it was:

**RESOLVED,** unanimously, to elect Councillor Wright to the office of Lord Mayor of Norwich for the ensuing civic year.

Councillor James Wright read and signed the declaration of acceptance of office and acknowledged the honour conferred on him. He would be attended by Kate Atkins as Lady Mayoress and Katy Jon Went as the Lord Mayor's Consort.

(The Lord Mayor (Councillor Wright) in the chair)-

## 3. Appointment of Sheriff

Councillor Jones moved and Councillor Osborn seconded the motion, and it was:

**RESOLVED,** unanimously, to appoint Dr Janet Sheldon to the office of Sheriff of Norwich for the new civic year.

Dr Janet Sheldon then made and signed the declaration of acceptance of office and acknowledged the honour conferred on her. She would be attended by

Angela Herbert, as the Sheriff's Consort. She named Ms Jane Mary Anderson as the Under-Sheriff.

## 4. Vote of Thanks to the Outgoing Lord Mayor and the Outgoing Sheriff

Councillor Stonard moved and Councillor Galvin seconded the vote of thanks and it was:

**RESOLVED**, unanimously, to express the council's appreciation of the valuable service rendered to the city by:

- (1) Councillor Dr Kevin Maguire as Lord Mayor and by the Lady Mayoress Julie Keane and the other Lord Mayor's Consorts during the past year and, on behalf of the citizens of Norwich, records its warmest thanks;
- (2) Caroline Jarrold, as Sheriff, and Nicholas Dixey, as Sheriff's consort, during the past year and, on behalf of the citizens of Norwich, records its warmest thanks.

The outgoing Lord Mayor and Sheriff then returned thanks.

## 5. Election of Deputy Lord Mayor

Councillor Sands (M) moved and Councillor Jones seconded and it was:

**RESOLVED**, unanimously, to elect Councillor Ackroyd, as Deputy Lord Mayor for the purpose of chairing council meetings in the absence of the Lord Mayor, given that the Sheriff is not a member of the council.

## 6. Election of Leader of the Council

Councillor Jones moved and Councillor Sands (S) seconded the motion, and it was:

**RESOLVED**, with 26 members voting in favour, none against and 10 members abstaining from voting, to elect Councillor Stonard as the Leader of the Council.

## 7. Leader of the Council's Cabinet Appointments

**RESOLVED** to note, having been elected as Leader of the Council, Councillor Stonard's cabinet member appointments are as follows:

Councillor Jones Councillor Oliver Councillor Hampton Councillor Giles Councillor Kendrick

(Details of individual portfolios will be published in due course.)

# 8. Appointment of Honorary Recorder

Councillor Driver moved and Councillor Worley seconded the motion, and it was -

**RESOLVED,** unanimously, to appoint Her Honour Judge, Alice Robinson, as the Honorary Recorder for the new civic year.

# 9. Political Proportionality

Councillor Stonard moved and Councillor Sands (M) seconded the recommendations in the report, and it was:

**RESOLVED**, unanimously, to approve the political proportionality for the civic year 2023-24, as set out in Appendix 1 of the report, and to amend the membership of the scrutiny, planning applications, licensing and regulatory committees to 14 members each.

#### 10. Election of Chairs to the Scrutiny, Audit, Licensing and Regulatory Committees, Approval of the Schedule of Meetings and Delegation to Appoint Members to Committees, Joint Committees and Other Working Parties/Panels of the Council

Having been moved by Councillor Stonard and seconded by Councillor Sands (M), it was:

**RESOLVED,** unanimously, to:

- (a) elect Councillor Ackroyd to the chair of the scrutiny committee for the new civic year;
- (b) elect Councillor Price to the chair of the audit committee for the new civic year;
- (c) elect Councillor Stutely to the chair of the licensing and regulatory committees, and Councillor Driver to the chair of planning applications committee, for the new civic year;
- (d) approve the schedule of meetings for the new civic year (in accordance with the appendix attached to the agenda papers);
- (e) delegate to the Head of Legal and Procurement, in consultation with the leaders of the political groups, the appointment of members in accordance with the political balance rules to committees, joint committees and other working parties/panels of the council.

LORD MAYOR