

MINUTES

COUNCIL - ANNUAL MEETING

15.30 – 17:05 23 May 2017

Present: Councillor Fullman (Lord Mayor following election), David Walker

(Sheriff, following election), Councillors Ackroyd, Bradford, Bremner, Bogelein, Brociek-Coulton, Button, Coleshill, Davis, Driver, Grahame, Haynes, Harris, Herries, Jackson, Jones (B), Jones (T), Kendrick, Lubbock, Manning, Maguire, Malik, Maxwell, Packer, Peek, Raby, Ryan, Sands (M), Schmierer, Stonard, Thomas (Va), Thomas (Vi),

Waters, Woollard and Wright

Apologies: Councillors Carlo, Henderson, Price and Sands (S)

1. One Minute Silence

As a mark of respect for those killed and injured in the attack in Manchester on 21 May 2017, a one minute silence was held.

2. Lord Mayor's Announcements

The Lord Mayor (Marion Maxwell) updated the council on her engagements since the last meeting.

3. Election of Lord Mayor

Councillor Waters moved and Councillor Bogelein seconded and it was –

RESOLVED, unanimously, to elect Councillor Fullman to the office of Lord Mayor of Norwich for the new civic year.

Councillor Fullman then made and signed the declaration of acceptance of office and acknowledged the honour conferred on him.

(The Lord Mayor (Councillor Fullman) in the chair)

4. Appointment of Sheriff

Councillor Stonard moved and Councillor Wright seconded and it was -

RESOLVED, unanimously, to elect Mr David Walker to the office of Sheriff of Norwich for the new civic year.

David Walker then made and signed the declaration of acceptance of office and acknowledged the honour conferred on him.

Council: 23 May 2017

Jane Anderson was named as his under- sheriff.

5. Vote of thanks to the outgoing Lord Mayor and the outgoing Sheriff

Councillor Harris moved and Councillor Wright seconded and it was -

RESOLVED, unanimously, to express the council's appreciation of the valuable service rendered to the city by –

- (1) Councillor Maxwell as Lord Mayor and by her various Lord Mayor's Consorts during the past year and, on behalf of the citizens of Norwich, records its warmest thanks;
- (2) Mr Richard Marks as Sheriff and Mrs Maeve Marks as Sheriff's consort during the past year and, on behalf of the citizens of Norwich, records its warmest thanks.

The outgoing Lord Mayor and Sheriff then returned thanks.

6. Election of Deputy Lord Mayor

Councillor Waters moved and Councillor Grahame seconded and it was -

RESOLVED, unanimously, to elect Councillor Schmierer as Deputy Lord Mayor for the purpose of chairing council meetings in the absence of the Lord Mayor, given that the Sheriff is not a member of the council.

7. Election of Leader of the Council

Councillor Harris moved and Councillor Woollard seconded and it was -

RESOLVED, with 28 voting in favour, none against and 6 abstentions to elect Councillor Waters as the Leader of the Council.

8. Leader of the council's cabinet appointments

RESOLVED to note, having been elected as Leader of the Council, Councillor Waters' cabinet appointments as follows:-

Councillor Harris, Deputy leader and cabinet member for social housing

Councillor Maguire, Cabinet member for safe city environment

Councillor Davis, Cabinet member for social inclusion

Councillor Stonard, Cabinet member for sustainable and inclusive growth

Councillor Herries, Cabinet member for safer, stronger neighbourhoods

Councillor Ryan, Cabinet member for health and wellbeing

Councillor Kendrick, Cabinet member for resources

9. Appointment of Honorary Recorder

Councillor Ryan moved and Councillor Schmierer seconded and it was -

RESOLVED, unanimously, to appoint Mr Robert Charles Stephen Holt as the Honorary recorder for the new civic year.

Council: 23 May 2017

10. Appointment of Committees, Joint Committees and Other Working Parties/Panels and Schedule of Meetings for 2017-18

Councillor Woollard moved and Councillor Davis) seconded that council:

- (a) elects:-
 - (i) Councillor Wright to the chair of the scrutiny committee and
 - (ii) Councillor Price to the chair of the audit committee for the new civic year;
- (b) elects Councillor Button to the chair of the licensing committee and Councillor Driver to the chair of the planning applications committee and that the number of places on these committees, which are not set out in the constitution, for the new civic year, be determined as follows:-

Licensing committee 13
Planning applications committee 12

- (c) elects Councillor Stonard to the vice-chair of the Norwich Highways Agency committee for the new civic year;
- (d) approves the schedule of ordinary meetings of the council, and notes the schedule for main committees for the new civic year (in accordance with appendix B);
- (e) delegates to the executive head of business services, in consultation with the leaders of the political groups, the appointment of members in accordance with the political balance rules to committees, joint committees and other working parties/panels of the council.

The Lord Mayor took the vote in two parts.

RESOLVED:-

- (1) unanimously, to :-,
 - (a) elects:-
 - (iii) Councillor Wright to the chair of the scrutiny committee and
 - (iv) Councillor Price to the chair of the audit committee, for the new civic year;
 - (d) approves the schedule of ordinary meetings of the council, and notes the schedule for main committees for the new civic year (in accordance with appendix B);
 - (e) delegates to the executive head of business services, in consultation with the leaders of the political groups, the appointment of members in accordance with the political balance rules to committees, joint committees and other working parties/panels of the council.

Council: 23 May 2017

- (2) With 28 voting in favour, 6 against and no abstentions, to :-,
 - (b) elects Councillor Button to the chair of the licensing committee and Councillor Driver to the chair of the planning applications committee and that the number of places on these committees, which are not set out in the constitution, for the new civic year, be determined as follows:-

Licensing committee 13 Planning applications committee 12

(c) elects Councillor Stonard to the vice-chair of the Norwich Highways Agency committee for the new civic year;

LORD MAYOR