

MINUTES

COUNCIL - ANNUAL MEETING

3.30 pm - 4.50 pm 26 May 2015

Present: Councillor Arthur (Lord Mayor following election), Beryl Blower

(Sheriff, following election), Councillors Ackroyd, Blunt; Bogelein, Boswell, Bradford, Bremner, Brociek-Coulton, Button, Carlo, Coleshill, Driver, Grahame, Harris, Haynes, Henderson, Herries, Howard, Jackson, Jones, Kendrick, Lubbock, Maxwell, Neale, Packer, Peek, Price, Raby, Ryan, Sands(M), Sands (S), Schmierer, Stonard,

Thomas(Va), Thomas(Vi), Waters, Woollard and Wright

Apologies: Councillor Manning

1. LORD MAYOR'S ANNOUNCEMENTS

The Lord Mayor, Councillor Lubbock, updated council on some of her engagements since the last meeting which included the Radio One Big Weekend free music festival in Earlham Park. She also congratulated Norwich City FC on gaining promotion to the Premier League.

2. ELECTION OF LORD MAYOR

Councillor Waters moved and Councillor Wright seconded and it was -

RESOLVED, unanimously, to elect Councillor Brenda Arthur to the office of Lord Mayor of Norwich for the new civic year.

Councillor Arthur then made and signed the declaration of acceptance of office and acknowledged the honour conferred on her.

(The Lord Mayor (Councillor Arthur) in the chair)

3. APPOINTMENT OF SHERIFF

Councillor Bremner moved and Councillor Boswell seconded and it was -

RESOLVED, unanimously, to elect Beryl Blower to the office of Sheriff of Norwich for the new civic year.

Beryl Blower then made and signed the declaration of acceptance of office and acknowledged the honour conferred on her.

Council: 26 May 2015

Jane Anderson was named as her under- sheriff.

4. VOTE OF THANKS TO THE OUTGOING LORD MAYOR AND THE OUTGOING SHERIFF

Councillor Ackroyd moved and Councillor Harris seconded and it was -

RESOLVED, unanimously, to express the council's appreciation of the valuable service rendered to the city by –

- (1) Councillor Judith Lubbock as Lord Mayor and Nigel Lubbock as consort during the past year and, on behalf of the citizens of Norwich, records its warmest thanks;
- (2) William Armstrong OBE as Sheriff and Monica Armstrong as Sheriff's Lady during the past year and, on behalf of the citizens of Norwich, records its warmest thanks.

The outgoing Lord Mayor and Sheriff then returned thanks.

5. ELECTION OF DEPUTY LORD MAYOR

Councillor Thomas (Va) moved and Councillor Haynes seconded and it was -

RESOLVED, unanimously, to elect Councillor Wright as Deputy Lord Mayor for the purpose of chairing council meetings in the absence of the Lord Mayor, given that the Sheriff is not a member of the council.

6. ELECTION OF THE LEADER OF THE COUNCIL

Councillor Harris moved and Councillor Stonard seconded and it was -

RESOLVED, unanimously, to elect Councillor Waters as the Leader of the Council.

7. LEADER OF THE COUNCIL'S CABINET APPOINTMENTS

RESOLVED to note, having been elected as Leader of the Council, Councillor Waters' cabinet appointments as follows:-

Name	Portfolio
Harris	Deputy leader and Housing and wellbeing
Councillor Bremner	Environment and sustainable development
Councillor Stonard	Resources and income generation
Councillor Driver	Neighbourhoods and community safety
Councillor Thomas (Va)	Fairness and Equality
Councillor Kendrick	Parks, Markets and open spaces

8. APPOINTMENT OF HONORARY RECORDER

Council: 26 May 2015

Councillor Maxwell moved and Councillor Grahame seconded and it was -

RESOLVED, unanimously, to appoint Robert Charles Stephen Holt as the Honorary recorder for the new civic year.

9. APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEES, JOINT COMMITTEES AND OTHER WORKING PARTIES/PANELS AND SCHEDULE OF MEETINGS FOR 14/15

Councillor Waters moved and Councillor Harris seconded the following:

- (a) To elect Councillor Wright as chair of the scrutiny committee for the new civic year;
- (b) (ii) To elect Councillor Neale as chair of the audit committee for the new civic year;
- (c) To elect Councillor Button to the chair of the licensing committee and Councillor sands (M) to the chair of the planning applications committee and that the number of places on these committees, which are not set out in the constitution for the new civic year, be determined as follows:-

Licensing committee 13
Planning applications committee 12

- (c) To elect Councillor Bremner to the vice-chair of the Norwich Highways Agency committee for the new civic year;
- (e) to (g) as set out in the agenda papers.

Councillor Boswell moved and Councillor Neale seconded that:

"Item 9 (a) be amended to elect Councillor Haynes as chair of the scrutiny committee"

On being put to the vote and with 14 voting in favour, 21 against and 1 abstention, the amendment was declared lost.

The Lord Mayor then put the substantive motion to the vote and it was -

RESOLVED:-

- (1) with 26 voting in favour, 7 against and 3 abstentions, to:-;
 - (a) elect Councillor Wright as chair of the scrutiny committee for the new civic year
- (2) unanimously, to :-,

Council: 26 May 2015

- a) elect Councillor Wright as chair of the scrutiny committee for the new civic year;
- b) elect Councillor Neale as chair of the audit committee for the new civic year;
- c) elect Councillor Button to the chair of the licensing committee and Councillor sands (M) to the chair of the planning applications committee and that the number of places on these committees, which are not set out in the constitution for the new civic year, be determined as follows:-

Licensing committee 13
Planning applications committee 12

- d) elect Councillor Bremner to the vice-chair of the Norwich Highways Agency committee for the new civic year;
- e) approve the schedule of ordinary meetings of the council, and notes the schedule for main committees for the new civic year (in accordance with appendix B);
- f) delegate to the executive head of business relationship management and democracy, in consultation with the leaders of the political groups, the appointment of members in accordance with the political balance rules to committees, joint committees and other working parties/panels of the council;
- g) note that a report on the appointment of representatives to outside organisations will be submitted to the council on 23 June 2015 and to agree that any changes to existing appointments to organisations meeting before this council should be delegated to the executive head of business relationship management in consultation with the leaders of the political groups.