

MINUTES

COUNCIL – ANNUAL MEETING

3.30 p.m. – 4.50 p.m.

Present: Councillor Collishaw (Lord Mayor), Professor Tim O'Riordan (Sheriff), Councillors Arthur, Banham, Blakeway, Blower, Bradford, Bremner, Brociek-Coulton, Cannell, Divers, Dylan, Driver, Fairbairn, Fisher, George, Gihawi, Gledhill, Holmes, Hooke, Jago, Jeraj, Lay, Little A, Little S, Llewellyn, Lubbock, Makoff, Morphew, Morrey, Offord, Ramsay, Read, Stephenson, Surridge, Waters, Watkins and Wright

Apologies: Councillors Bearman and Wiltshire

1. ELECTION OF LORD MAYOR

Councillor Stephenson moved and Councillor Sands seconded and it was -

RESOLVED to elect Councillor Tom Dylan to the office of Lord Mayor of Norwich for the new civic year.

Councillor Dylan then made and signed the declaration of acceptance of office and acknowledged the honour conferred on him.

(The Lord Mayor (Councillor Dylan) in the Chair).

2. APPOINTMENT OF SHERIFF

Councillor Morphew moved and Councillor Watkins seconded and it was -

RESOLVED to elect Derek James to the office of Sheriff of Norwich for the new civic year.

Derek James then made and signed the declaration of acceptance of office and acknowledged the honour conferred on him.

The Sheriff named Jane Mary Anderson as his under Sheriff.

18 May 2010

3. VOTE OF THANKS TO THE OUTGOING LORD MAYOR AND THE OUTGOING SHERIFF

Councillor Little (A) moved and Councillor Jeraj seconded and it was -

RESOLVED that the Council expresses its appreciation of the valuable services rendered to the city by –

- Councillor Evelyn Collishaw as Lord Mayor and by Mr Vic Hopes as Lord Mayor's consort during the past year and on behalf of the citizens of Norwich, records its warmest thanks;
- (2) Professor Tim O'Riordan as Sheriff during the past year and records its warmest thanks.

The outgoing Lord Mayor and Sheriff then returned thanks.

4. ELECTION OF DEPUTY LORD MAYOR

Councillor Morphew moved and Councillor Morrey seconded and it was -

RESOLVED to elect Councillor Keith Driver as Deputy Lord Mayor for the purpose of chairing council meetings in the absence of the Lord Mayor, given that the Sheriff is not a member of the council.

5. ELECTION OF THE LEADER OF COUNCIL AND APPOINTMENT OF THE EXECUTIVE

Councillor Morrey moved and Councillor Waters seconded and it was -

RESOLVED, with 15 voting in favour, 3 against and 16 abstentions, to elect Councillor Morphew as Leader of the Council.

Councillor Morphew moved and Councillor Waters seconded and it was -

RESOLVED, with 15 voting in favour, 3 against and 16 abstentions to appoint the following members of the Executive –

Councillor Morphew	- Leader of the Council
Councillor Morrey	 Deputy Leader of the Council and Executive Member for Sustainable City Development
Councillor Waters	 Executive Member for Corporate Resources and Governance
Councillor Sands	 Executive Member for Children and Young People
Councillor Arthur	- Executive Member for Housing and Adult Services
Councillor Brociek-Coulton	- Executive Member for Residents and Customer Care
Councillor Bremner	 Executive Member for Community Safety and Community Cohesion
Councillor Blakeway	- Executive Member for Neighbourhood Development

6. APPOINTMENT OF HONORARY RECORDER, APPOINTMENTS OF COMMITTEES, JOINT COMMITTEES AND OTHER WORKING PARTIES/PANELS AND SCHEDULE OF MEETINGS FOR 2010/11

Councillor Morrey moved and Councillor Arthur seconded and it was -

RESOLVED to -

- (1) appoint Judge Peter Jacobs as the Honorary Recorder for the new civic year;
- elect Councillor Stephenson to the Chair of the Scrutiny Committee and Councillor Little (S) to the Chair of the Audit Committee for the new civic year;
- (3) elect Councillor Driver to the Chair of the Licensing Committee and Councillor Bradford to the Chair of the Planning Applications Committee and that the number of places on these committees, which are not set out in the Constitution, for the new civic year, be determined as follows:-

Licensing	13
Planning Applications Committee	12

- (4) elect Councillor Morrey to the Vice Chair of the Norwich Highways Agency Committee for the new civic year;
- (5) appoint Peter Franzen to the Chair and Colin Thrower to the Vice Chair of the Standards Committee for the new civic year;
- approve the schedule of meetings of Council, Executive and main committees for the new civic year (in accordance with the annexed Appendix A);
- (7) delegate to the Head of Legal and Democratic Services, in consultation with the leaders of the political groups, the appointment of members in accordance with the political balance rules to committees, joint committees and other working parties/panels of the Council;
- (8) note that a report on the appointment of representatives to outside organisations will be submitted to the Council at the end of June 2010 and to agree that any change to existing appointments to organisations meeting before this Council should be delegated to the Head of Legal and Democratic Services in consultation with the leaders of the political groups.

LORD MAYOR