

**MINUTES** 

# **COUNCIL - ANNUAL MEETING**

3.30 pm - 4.30 pm 10 June 2014

Present: Councillor Lubbock (Lord Mayor following election), Mr Armstrong

(Sheriff, following election), Councillors Ackroyd, Arthur, Barker, Bogelein, Boswell, Bradford, Bremner, Brociek-Coulton, Button, Driver, Carlo, Galvin, Gayton, Gihawi, Grahame, Harris, Haynes, Henderson, Herries, Jackson, Jones, Kendrick, Little, Manning, Maxwell, Packer, Price, Ryan, Sands(M), Sands (S), Stonard, Waters,

Woollard and Wright

Apologies: Councillors Blunt, Howard, Neale and Stammers

# 1. LORD MAYOR'S ANNOUNCEMENTS

The Lord Mayor, Councillor Driver updated council on some of his engagements since the last meeting. He'd had a wonderful year during which he had been pleased to meet so many residents who help to make Norwich the fine city it is.

### 2. ELECTION OF LORD MAYOR

Councillor Ackroyd moved and Councillor Arthur seconded and it was -

**RESOLVED,** unanimously, to elect Councillor Judith Lubbock to the office of Lord Mayor of Norwich for the new civic year.

Councillor Lubbock then made and signed the declaration of acceptance of office and acknowledged the honour conferred on her.

(The Lord Mayor (Councillor Lubbock) in the chair.)

# 3. APPOINTMENT OF SHERIFF

Councillor Arthur moved and Councillor Boswell seconded and it was -

**RESOLVED,** unanimously, to elect William Armstrong to the office of Sheriff of Norwich for the new civic year.

Council: 10 June 2014

William Armstrong then made and signed the declaration of acceptance of office and acknowledged the honour conferred on him.

The Sheriff named Jane Anderson as his under sheriff.

# 4. VOTE OF THANKS TO THE OUTGOING LORD MAYOR AND THE OUTGOING SHERIFF

Councillor Waters moved and Councillor Grahame seconded and it was -

**RESOLVED**, unanimously, to express the council's appreciation of the valuable service rendered to the city by –

- (1) Councillor Keith Driver as Lord Mayor and Linden Driver and Sarah Tranquillo as consorts to the Lord Mayor during the past year and, on behalf of the citizens of Norwich, records its warmest thanks;
- (2) Graham Creelman as Sheriff and Vivica Parsons as Sheriff's Lady during the past year and, on behalf of the citizens of Norwich, records its warmest thanks.

The outgoing Lord Mayor and Sheriff then returned thanks.

### 5. ELECTION OF DEPUTY LORD MAYOR

Councillor Harris moved and Councillor Stonard seconded and it was -

**RESOLVED**, unanimously, to elect Councillor Maxwell as Deputy Lord Mayor for the purpose of chairing council meetings in the absence of the Lord Mayor, given that the Sheriff is not a member of the council.

#### 6. ELECTION OF THE LEADER OF THE COUNCIL

Councillor Waters moved and Councillor Bremner seconded and it was -

**RESOLVED**, with 24 voting in favour, 11 against and no abstentions, to elect Councillor Arthur as the Leader of the Council.

## 7. LEADER OF THE COUNCIL'S CABINET APPOINTMENTS

**RESOLVED** to note, having been elected as Leader of the Council, Councillor Arthur's cabinet appointments as follows:-

Name	Portfolio
Councillor Waters	Deputy leader and resources
Councillor Bremner	Housing
Councillor Stonard	Environment, development and transport
Councillor Driver	Neighbourhoods and community safety
Councillor Harris	Customer services

Council: 10 June 2014

# 8. APPOINTMENT OF HONORARY RECORDER

Councillor Maxwell moved and Councillor Bremner seconded and it was -

**RESOLVED**, unanimously, to appoint Robert Charles Stephen Holt as the Honorary recorder for the new civic year.

# 9. APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEES, JOINT COMMITTEES AND OTHER WORKING PARTIES/PANELS AND SCHEDULE OF MEETINGS FOR 14/15

Councillor Arthur moved and Councillor Ackroyd seconded the following:

- (a) To elect:
  - (i) Councillor Wright as chair of the scrutiny committee for the new civic year;
  - (ii) Councillor Neale as chair of the audit committee for the new civic year;
- (b) To elect Councillor Button to the chair of the licensing committee and Councillor Gayton to the chair of the planning applications committee and that the number of places on these committees, which are not set out in the constitution for the new civic year, be determined as follows:-

Licensing committee 13
Planning applications committee 12

- (c) To elect Councillor Stonard to the vice-chair of the Norwich Highways Agency committee for the new civic year;
- (d) to (f) as set out in the agenda papers."

Councillor Boswell moved and Councillor Haynes seconded that:

"Item 9 (a) (i) be amended to elect Councillor Galvin as chair of the scrutiny committee, and the following wording be added to the end of Item 9 (e) ....: subject to Councillor Grahame being appointed as the second voting member of the Norwich Highways Agency Committee".

Councillor Arthur moved and councillor Bremner seconded that the amendment be now put to the vote.

**RESOLVED**, with 24 voting in favour, 11 against and no abstentions, to pass the procedural motion.

On being put to the vote and with 11 voting in favour, 24 against and no abstentions, the amendment was declared lost.

The Lord Mayor then put the substantive motion to the vote and it was -

## **RESOLVED:-**

- (1) with 24 voting in favour, 11 against and no abstentions, to:-;
  - (a) elect Councillor Wright as chair of the scrutiny committee for the new civic year
  - (b) delegate to the executive head of strategy, people and democracy, in consultation with the leaders of the political groups, the appointment of members in accordance with the political balance rules to committees, joint committees and other working parties/panels of the council.
- (2) unanimously, to :-,
  - (a) elect Councillor Neale as chair of the audit committee for the new civic year;
  - (b) elect Councillor Button as chair of the licensing committee and Councillor Gayton as chair of the planning applications committee and that the number of places on these committees, which are not set out in the constitution for the new civic year, be determined as follows:-

Licensing committee 13 Planning applications committee 12

- (c) elect Councillor Stonard to the vice-chair of the Norwich Highways Agency Committee for the new civic year;
- (d) approve the schedule of meetings for the new civic year (in accordance with appendix B);
- (e) note that a report on the appointment of representatives to outside organisations will be submitted to the council on 22 July 2014 and to agree that any changes to existing appointments to organisations meeting before this council should be delegated to the Head of law and governance in consultation with the leaders of the political groups.