

MINUTES

COUNCIL - ANNUAL MEETING

15.30 – 16:20 24 May 2022

Present: Councillor Maguire (Lord Mayor following election), Caroline Jarrold

(Sheriff, following election), Councillors Ackroyd, Bogelein, Brociek-Coulton, Carlo, Catt, Champion, Driver, Galvin, Giles, Grahame, Harris, Hampton, Huntley, Jones, Kendrick, Kidman, Lubbock, Oliver, Osborn, Peek, Price, Sands (M), Sands (S), Schmierer, Stonard, Stutely,

Thomas (Va), Thomas (Vi), Waters, Wright, and Young

Apologies: Councillors Button, Everett, Fulton-McAlister (E), Fulton-McAlister (M),

Padda, and Haynes

1. Lord Mayor's Announcements

The Lord Mayor highlighted that the previous civic year had been impacted by the Covid-19 pandemic and therefore many events that he had attended had been different to a normal civic year. One particular event he highlighted was opening the playground of a school. He also said that David Newson, one of the superintendents, was retiring from the council after 47 years of service.

2. Election of Lord Mayor

(The Deputy Lord Mayor (Councillor Ackroyd) in the chair)

Councillor Harris moved and Councillor Bogelein seconded the item and it was -

RESOLVED, unanimously, to elect Councillor Kevin Maguire to the office of Lord Mayor of Norwich for the ensuing civic year.

Councillor Maguire then read and signed the declaration of acceptance of office and acknowledged the honour conferred on him.

(The Lord Mayor (Councillor Maguire) in the chair)

3. Appointment of Sheriff

Councillor Harris moved and Councillor Schmierer seconded and it was -

RESOLVED, unanimously, to elect Caroline Jarrold, to the office of Sheriff of Norwich for the new civic year.

Caroline Jarrold then made and signed the declaration of acceptance of office and acknowledged the honour conferred on her.

Council: 24 May 2022

Jane Anderson was named as her under- sheriff.

4. Election of Deputy Lord Mayor

Councillor Driver moved and Councillor Carlo seconded the item and it was -

RESOLVED, unanimously, to elect Councillor Ackroyd, as Deputy Lord Mayor for the purpose of chairing council meetings in the absence of the Lord Mayor, given that the Sheriff is not a member of the council.

5. Election of Leader of the Council

Councillor Harris moved and Councillor Mike Sands seconded the item and with 24 voting in favour and 10 abstentions it was:-

RESOLVED to elect Councillor Waters as the Leader of the Council.

6. Leader's cabinet appointments

Councillor Waters confirmed that the following Councillors would form part of his cabinet; Councillors, Harris, Oliver, Stonard, Hampton, Jones, Giles and Kendrick.

7. appointment of Honorary Recorder

Councillor Stutely moved and Councillor Giles seconded the item and it was:-

RESOLVED, unanimously, to appoint Her Honour Judge Alice Robinson as the Honorary Recorder for the new civic year.

8. Politicial propotionality

Councillor Vivien Thomas moved and Councillor Harris seconded the item and it was

RESOLVED, unanimously, to approve the political proportionality for the civic year 2022-23 and to amend the membership of the Standards Committee to consist of 7 Councillors.

9. Appointment of chairs and schedule of meetings for 2022-23

Councillor Waters moved and Councillor Harris seconded the item and it was -

RESOLVED, unanimously, to:

- (a) elect:-
 - (i) Councillor Wright to the chair of the scrutiny committee, and,
 - (ii) Councillor Price to the chair of the audit committee for the new civic year;
- (b) elect Councillor Stutely to the chair of the licensing committee and Councillor Driver to the chair of the planning applications committee

and that the number of places on these committees, which are not set out in the constitution, for the new civic year, be determined as follows:-

Licensing committee 13
Planning applications committee 13

- (c) approve the schedule of ordinary meetings of the council, and note the schedule for main committees for the new civic year;
- (d) delegate to the executive director of corporate and commercial services in consultation with the leaders of the political groups, the appointment of members in accordance with the political balance rules to committees, joint committees and other working parties/panels of the council.

LORD MAYOR