

MINUTES

# **COUNCIL - ANNUAL MEETING**

## 15.30 - 17:20

## 21 May 2019

Present: Councillor Thomas (Va) (Lord Mayor following election), Dr Marian Prinsley (Sheriff, following election), Councillors Ackroyd, Brociek-Coulton, Bogelein, Button, Carlo, Davis, Driver, Fulton-McAlister (M), Giles, Grahame, Harris, Huntley, Jones, Kendrick, Lubbock, Manning, Maguire, Maxwell, McCartney-Gray, Neale, Oliver, Packer, Peek, Price, Ryan, Sands (M), Sarmezey, Schmierer, Stonard, Stutely, Thomas (Vi), Utton, Waters, and Wright

Apologies: Councillors Osborn and Sands (S)

#### 1. Lord Mayor's Announcements

The Lord Mayor welcomed Councillors Bogelein, Giles, Grahame, McCartney-Gray, Neale, Oliver, Osborn, Sarmezey, Utton and Youssef to the council following the local elections. He also thanked former Councillors Bradford, Trevor, Smith, Fullman, Malik, Hampton, Stewart, Coleshill, Henderson and Raby for their hard work in the community and wished them every success for the future.

He had attended the launch of the Norfolk and Norwich festival and had celebrated Norwich as the first English UNESCO city of literature. The Norwich City Football Club promotion parade had been a highlight and showed the best of the city with thousands of people coming together to celebrate.

He said that it had been a privilege to serve as Lord Mayor of Norwich.

### 2. Election of Lord Mayor

Councillor Waters moved and Councillor Price seconded and it was -

**RESOLVED,** unanimously, to elect Councillor Vaughan Thomas to the office of Lord Mayor of Norwich for the ensuing civic year.

Councillor Vaughan Thomas then read and signed the declaration of acceptance of office and acknowledged the honour conferred on him.

(The Lord Mayor (Councillor Vaughan Thomas) in the chair)

### 3. Appointment of Sheriff

Councillor Ackroyd moved and Councillor Harris seconded and it was -

**RESOLVED,** unanimously, to elect Dr Marian Prinsley to the office of Sheriff of Norwich for the new civic year.

Dr Marian Prinsley then made and signed the declaration of acceptance of office and acknowledged the honour conferred on her.

Jane Anderson was named as her under- sheriff.

### 4. Vote of thanks to the outgoing Lord Mayor and the outgoing Sheriff

Councillor Carlo moved and Councillor Harris seconded and it was -

**RESOLVED**, unanimously, to express the council's appreciation of the valuable service rendered to the city by:

- Councillor Schmierer as Lord Mayor and by his Lady Mayoress, Ms Jennifer Cochrane during the past year and, on behalf of the citizens of Norwich, records its warmest thanks;
- (2) Ms Rosamunde Brown as Sheriff and Mr Brian Smith, as Sheriff's consort, during the past year and, on behalf of the citizens of Norwich, records its warmest thanks.

The outgoing Lord Mayor and Sheriff then returned thanks.

### 5. Election of Deputy Lord Mayor

Councillor Maxwell moved and Councillor Lubbock seconded and it was -

**RESOLVED**, unanimously, to elect Councillor Ackroyd, as Deputy Lord Mayor for the purpose of chairing council meetings in the absence of the Lord Mayor, given that the Sheriff is not a member of the council.

### 6. Election of Leader of the Council

Councillor Harris moved and Councillor Maguire seconded and with 29 voting in favour and 8 abstentions it was -

**RESOLVED** to elect Councillor Waters as the Leader of the Council.

### 7. Leader of the council's cabinet appointments

**RESOLVED** to note, having been elected as Leader of the Council, Councillor Waters' cabinet appointments are as follows:-

Councillor Harris, Deputy leader and cabinet member for social housing Councillor Maguire, Cabinet member for safe and sustainable city environment Councillor Stonard, Cabinet member for sustainable and inclusive growth Councillor Davis, Cabinet member for social inclusion Councillor Jones, Cabinet member for safer, stronger neighbourhoods Councillor Packer, Cabinet member for health and wellbeing Councillor Kendrick, Cabinet member for resources

## 8. Appointment of Honorary Recorder

Councillor Ryan moved and Councillor Utton seconded and it was -

**RESOLVED,** unanimously, to appoint His Honour Robert Charles Stephen Holt as the Honorary recorder for the new civic year.

#### 9. Appointment of Committees, Joint Committees and Other Working Parties/Panels and Schedule of Meetings for 2019-20

Councillor Waters moved and Councillor Harris seconded and it was -

**RESOLVED**, unanimously, to:

- (a) elect :-
  - (i) Councillor Wright to the chair of the scrutiny committee, and,
  - (ii) Councillor Price to the chair of the audit committee for the new civic year;
- (b) elect Councillor Stutely to the chair of the licensing committee and Councillor Driver to the chair of the planning applications committee and that the number of places on these committees, which are not set out in the constitution, for the new civic year, be determined as follows:-

Licensing committee 13 Planning applications committee 13

- (c) elect Councillor Stonard to the vice-chair of the Norwich Highways Agency committee for the new civic year;
- (d) approve the schedule of ordinary meetings of the council, and notes the schedule for main committees for the new civic year (in accordance with appendix B);
- (e) delegate to the director of business services in consultation with the leaders of the political groups, the appointment of members in accordance with the political balance rules to committees, joint committees and other working parties/panels of the council.

LORD MAYOR